Tôi Yêu Tiếng Nước Tôi Blog

New Year, New Semester (and last)

keep-calm-and-graduate-2016

Hello World!

It is a brand new year and Spring semester is about to start soon! This is my last semester of my graduate studies, and I can not be any more excited to graduate soon. Although, I am dreading all the assignments I have to do! There are SO many written assignments this semester than previous semesters. It’s ri-donk-ulous! (Okay, maybe that’s not entirely true). I’m not complaining about it because I don’t want to do it and all the work may seem laborious, but it’s more like whether I am able to handle the workload with the longer hours that I will have at my placement this term. However, I must remind myself that I am in this field and in graduate school for a reason. Lack of productivity is not acceptable. If anything, this is still the right time to learn, make mistakes, and enjoy the rest of my college time before entering the real world.

This semester, I will be working at a Nursing Skilled Facility. I recently met with my supervisor to go over the logistics and, (oh, gosh), I sincerely do hope I will survive this semester because, right now, I am crying from the inside. But no fear, because I know with lots of hard work, positivity, perseverance, and praying will do the trick! Right?

I have this quote written on my chalkboard in my room as a reminder to myself to hang in a little while longer when things get tough: “Work hard, pray often, and worry less!” It is a great self-reminder. I know in the sea of all the graduate school craziness, especially during mid-terms and finals, I am more prone to feel stressed and depressed. But in the midst of it all, I would find consolation through prayers, attending worship times every Wednesday night and mass at the Newman Catholic Center on campus. These always seems to calm me and help redirect my focus. Praying offers me a sense of comfort, peace, and reassurance and prevents me from falling into the depth of sins waiting to apprehend my fragile soul. I am also very grateful to have good people in my life, such as my family and friends who also help get me through the gloomy and stressful time during my school. Thank God that I also made a couple of good friends in the program who I get along with pretty well. So when the tests time come around, studying together always help, too.

I tend to stay away from making New Year’s resolutions because I usually don’t keep up with them, but I’ll make it an exception this year since there are things I want to work on that would be easier to keep up with: 1) improve my writing, 2) be consistent and stay on top of things to not fall behind, 3) continue to pray, but pray the rosary once each week, and 4) take good care of myself by eating healthy and exercising 2x/week.

Wish me luck on my last semester, and let’s make this New Year a great year! Cheers, and thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a comment